Committee on the Status of Women

Distinguished Professional Woman Award

Nominations are currently closed. Watch for coming announcements.

The Distinguished Professional Woman (DPW) Award was established in 1984 to honor exceptional women. In 2014, this award was redesigned to recognize only women employed at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) that will now include a cash award of $2,000.00. The CSW is currently seeking nominations for women who:

  • Exemplifies a professional woman and outstanding achiever at UTHealth,
  • Has been employed at a full time status for a minimum of 5 years at UTHealth,
  • Is respected by her peers as well as professionals in other disciplines,
  • Has made significant contributions to her profession in an overall aspect of quality and service to others,
  • Demonstrates a pioneering spirit in her profession to those she works with in her community, and
  • Supports women as both a mentor and a positive role model. 

Nomination Packet Must Include: 

  1. Nomination Reply Form
  2. 1-2 page letter, using the definitions above to explain why you think your nominee qualifies for and should receive th DPW Award.
  3. Biographical Sketch and CV or Resume of nominee (your nominee must be aware of the nomination and approve of the submission).
  4. Three one-page Recommendation Letters for your nominee.


1984 Sarah Weddington, JD 2004 Mary desVignes-Kendrick, MD, MPH, FAAP

1985 Carolyn Leach Huntoon, PhD

2005 Dianna Milewicz, MD, PhD
1986 Kathryn J. Whitmire 2006 Nancy Dickey, MD
1987 Wilhelmina Ruth Fitzgerald Delco 2007 Carmel Bitondo Dyer, MD, AGSF, FACP
1988 Benjy F. Brooks, MD 2008 Cheryl L. Perry, PhD
1989 Judith G. Novak, RN, MEd 2009 Ellen Gritz, PhD
1990 Lois Moore, RN, BSN, MEd 2010 Susan H. Landry, PhD
1991 Patricia Buffler, PhD 2011 award suspended this year
1992 Ruth Hartgraves 2012 award suspended this year
1993 Patricia L. Starck, DSN, RN, FAAN                        2013 Millicent Goldschmidt, PhD
1994 Mae C. Jemison, MD 2014 award suspended this year
1995 Doris Laune Ross, PhD 2015
1996 (TIE) Margaret L. Kripke, PhD
1996 (TIE) Dianna Redburn, MD
1997 Michele G. Curtis, MD 2017
1998 Diana S. Natalicio, PhD 2018
1999 LuAnn Aday, PhD 2019
2000 Anna Steinberger, PhD 2020
2001 Juliet V. Garcia, PhD 2021
2002 Melinda Hill Perrin 2022
2003 Irma Gigli, MD 2023