Skip Navigation.

Office of Development

Mailing Address:
Office of Development
P.O. Box 1321
Houston, TX 77251-1321
Physical Address:
Office of Development
7000 Fannin, Suite 1200
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 713-500-3200
Fax: 713-500-3052


An endowed Chair position is a distinction given to high-performing department leaders and senior faculty members. This honor is a valuable retention and recruitment tool that allows the university to recognize the efforts of current educators and researchers, as well as attract leaders in the health science community. As of January 1, 2015, a $1 million gift is required to establish a Chair endowment.

For questions or comments, contact:

Ty Sponberg, Senior Gift Assurance Officer
(713) 500-3210

Below is the current list of endowed chairs:

Endowed ChairFaculty HolderSchoolEndowment Established
A.G. McNeese Chair in Pediatric Surgery Kevin P. Lally, M.D. McGovern Medical School 10/7/1982
Andrew R. Burgess, M.D. Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery Trauma Vacant McGovern Medical School 8/17/2015
Atilla Ertan, MD Chair in Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Vacant McGovern Medical School 1/28/2016
Bernice Weingarten Chair in Ophthalmology Charles Garcia, M.D. McGovern Medical School 11/1/2011
C. Frank Webber, M.D. Chair of Family Medicine Carlos A. Moreno, M.D. McGovern Medical School 12/5/1997
Cecil M. Crigler, M.D. Chair in Urology Run Wang, M.D. McGovern Medical School 10/11/1991
Chair in Childhood Reading and Learning Carolyn A. Denton, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 8/31/2006
Chair in Biomedical Engineering Ponnada Narayana, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 8/29/2008
Cullen Chair in Molecular Medicine Qingchun Tong, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 12/1/2008
Denton A. Cooley, M.D. Chair in Surgery Richard Andrassy, M.D. McGovern Medical School 12/4/1986
Dr. Thomas D. Cronin Chair in Plastic Surgery Richard Andrassy, M.D. McGovern Medical School 10/9/1986
Edward Randall, III Chair in Internal Medicine  Philip R. Orlander, M.D. McGovern Medical School 6/16/1983
Edward T. Smith, M.D. Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery Walter R. Lowe, M.D. McGovern Medical School 5/11/1995
Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology Maureen D. Mayes, M.D., M.P.H. McGovern Medical School 3/11/1997
Endowed Chair of Mitochondrial Medicine Mary Kay Koenig, M.D. McGovern Medical School 4/19/2010
Fondren Chair in Cellular Signaling Edgar T. Walters, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 5/20/1997
Frank M. Yatsu, M.D. Chair in Neurology Sean Savitz, M.D. McGovern Medical School 1/18/2013
Fred A. and Dianne F. Garrett Endowed Chair in Orthodontics Jeryl D. English, D.D.S., M.S. School of Dentistry 9/23/2011
Frederic B. Asche Chair in Ophthalmology John O’Brien, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 9/18/2000
Guy S. Parcel Chair in Public Health Barry R. Davis, M.D., Ph.D. School of Public Health 8/29/2008
Harriet and Joe Foster Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience Linda Ewing-Cobbs, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 6/23/2011
Harvey S. Rosenberg, M.D., Chair in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Dr. Robert E. Brown McGovern Medical School 2/12/1987
Huffington Foundation Endowed Chair in Nursing Education Leadership Lorraine Frazier, Ph.D., R.N. School of Nursing 9/30/2011
Isla Carroll Turner Chair in Gerontological Nursing Vacant School of Nursing 10/7/1982
Jack H. Mayfield, M.D. Chair in Surgery John B. Holcomb, M.D., F.A.C.S. McGovern Medical School 4/26/2007
James C. Grotta, M.D. Chair in Neurological Recovery and Stroke Elizabeth Noser, M.D. McGovern Medical School 3/30/2012
James T. and Nancy B. Willerson Chair David D. McPherson, M.D. McGovern Medical School 5/10/2001
Jane Dale Owen Chair in Environmental Health Protection Vacant School of Public Health 8/29/2008
Janice Davis Gordon Chair for Bowel Cancer Research Qingyun Liu, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 8/4/2004
Jesse H. Jones Chair in Molecular Biology Ann-Bin Shyu, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 2/12/1997
Joe M. Green, Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology Vacant McGovern Medical School 11/29/2004
John P. McGovern, M.D. Chair in Medical Humanities Thomas Cole, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 4/21/2006
John S. Dunn, Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology William Dowhan, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 9/22/1998
Joseph C. Gabel, M.D. Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology Carin A. Hagberg, M.D. McGovern Medical School 11/26/1997
June and Virgil Waggoner Chair John H. Byrne, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 6/28/2002
Kozmetsky Family Chair in Human Genetics Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D., Director McGovern Medical School 8/2/2004
Levit Family Chair in the Neurosciences Vacant McGovern Medical School 11/27/2002
Linda K. Finger Chair in Autoimmune and Connective Tissue Diseases Filemon K. Tan, M.D., Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 12/16/2008
Lynn and Oscar Wyatt Chair in Metabolic Research Erik B. Wilson, M.D. McGovern Medical School 5/4/2015
M. David Low Chair in Public Health Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D. School of Public Health 8/31/2004
Marcus M. Key, M.D.--Shell Occupational and Environmental Health Endowed Chair Vacant School of Public Health 8/7/2013
Mary W. Kelsey Chair in the Medical Sciences Herbert L. DuPont, M.D. McGovern Medical School 6/16/1983
Pat R. Rutherford, Jr. Chair in Psychiatry Jair C. Soares, M.D. McGovern Medical School 2/12/1982
President George Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine Dianna M. Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 9/23/1998
R. Palmer Beasley, M.D. Chair Vacant School of Public Health 12/17/2012
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Chair in Gerontology Carmel Dyer, M.D. McGovern Medical School 4/15/1988
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Chair in Neurology Jaroslaw Aronowski, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 4/15/1988
Samuel E. Karff, D.H.L. Chair in the John P. McGovern, M.D. Center for Humanities and Ethics Jeffrey Spike, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 6/21/2006
William S. Kilroy, Sr. Chair in Pulmonary Disease Michael R. Blackburn, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 4/4/2003