Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Office of Development

Distinguished Chair

A Distinguished Chair position is a high honor often bestowed to deans and division directors of special merit. This is a prestigious honor that serves as a great incentive when attracting high caliber educators and researchers for leadership positions at the university. As of January 1, 2015, a $2 million gift is required to establish a Distinguished Chair endowment.

For questions or comments, contact:

Mike Ingram. Gift Assurance Officer
(713) 500-3099

Below is the current list of endowed distinguished chairs:

Endowed Distinguished ChairFaculty HolderSchoolEndowment Established
Adriana Blood Distinguished Chair in Neurology Mya C. Schiess, M.D. McGovern Medical School 4/9/1992
Albert and Margaret Alkek Distinguished Chair in Early Childhood Development Susan H. Landry, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 3/24/2009
Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair Giuseppe Colasurdo, M.D. Component-Wide 10/22/1996
Annie and Bob Graham Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology Naoki Nakayama, Ph.D.  McGovern Medical School 4/21/2006
C.R. Bard, Inc./Edward J. McGuire, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Urology Steven Canfield, M.D. McGovern Medical School 8/30/1996
Distinguished Chair for Orthopedic Research Johnny Huard, M.D. McGovern Medical School 4/6/2016
Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pathology Robert L. Hunter, M.D. McGovern Medical School 10/8/1993
Distinguished Chair in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Gustavo Ayala, M.D. McGovern Medical School 10/8/1993
Elizabeth Morford Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology Stephen C. Massey, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 11/1/2011
George and Cynthia Mitchell Distinguished Chair in Neurosciences Charles S. Cox, Jr., M.D. McGovern Medical School 5/30/2003
Hans J. Muller-Eberhard, M.D., Ph.D. and Irma Gigli, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Immunology Rick A. Wetsel, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 1/11/2001
Jacobo Geissler Distinguished Chair in West Syndrome Research Ian J. Butler, M.D. McGovern Medical School 5/30/2013
James D. Woods Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine Richard W. Smalling, M.D., Ph.D., F.A.C.C. McGovern Medical School 10/05/2007
James T. Willerson Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Research in Tribute from the Ewing Halsell Foundation Ali J. Marian, M.D. McGovern Medical School 8/26/2003
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair #1 Holger K. Eltzschig, M.D., Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John S. Dunn Distinguished Chair in Radiology Susan D. John, M.D. McGovern Medical School 12/3/1987
Kay and Ben Fortson Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Gerald F. Bills, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 2/2/2005
Linda and Ronny Finger Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neuroimmunologic Disorders John D. Reveille, M.D. McGovern Medical School 9/24/2004
Louisa Stude Sarofim Distinguished Chair John O'Brien, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 4/4/2014
Marvin E. Chernosky, M.D. Endowed Distinguished Chair in Dermatology Ronald P. Rapini, M.D. McGovern Medical School 11/12/2013
Mary Farish Johnston Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology Stephen P. Daiger, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 4/4/2014
Nancy and Rich Kinder Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Disease Research Eva M. Sevick, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 7/21/2003
Nancy, Clive and Pierce Runnells Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience of the Vivian L. Smith Center for Neurologic Research Daniel H. Kim, M.D. McGovern Medical School 11/11/1997
Nancy P. and Vincent F. Guinee, MD Distinguished Chair Carmel Dyer, M.D. Component-Wide 2/4/2015
Nina and Michael Zilkha Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Pramod Dash, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 8/04/2005
Richard J. Andrassy, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Surgery Kevin P. Lally, M.D. McGovern Medical School 7/3/2014
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Chemistry John Spudich, Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 6/1/1973
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair Louise D. McCullough, M.D., Ph.D. McGovern Medical School 8/10/2000
The Glassell Family Foundation Distinguished Chair in Informatics Excellence Jiajie Zhang, Ph.D. School of Biomedical Informatics 8/3/2015
The Rockwell Distinguished Chair in Society and Health Cheryl L. Perry, Ph.D. School of Public Health 2/29/2000
Weatherhead Distinguished Chair of Heart Disease (Formerly known as the Albert J. Weatherhead III Fund) Nils P. Johnson, M.D., M.S. McGovern Medical School 8/8/2002