Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Distinguished Chair

A Distinguished Chair position is a high honor often bestowed to deans and division directors of special merit. This is a prestigious honor that serves as a great incentive when attracting high caliber educators and researchers for leadership positions at the university. As of January 1, 2015, a $2 million gift is required to establish a Distinguished Chair endowment.

Below is the current list of endowed distinguished chairs:

Endowed Distinguished Chair Faculty Holder School Endowment Established
Adriana Blood Distinguished Chair in Neurology Mya C. Schiess, MD McGovern Medical School 4/9/1992
Albert and Margaret Alkek Distinguished Chair in Early Childhood Development Susan H. Landry, PhD McGovern Medical School 3/24/2009
Alkek-Williams Distinguished Chair Giuseppe Colasurdo, MD Component-Wide 10/22/1996
Annie and Bob Graham Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology Nami McCarty, PhD McGovern Medical School 4/21/2006
Clare A. Glassell Distinguished Chair Fabio Triolo, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/26/2018
C.R. Bard, Inc./Edward J. McGuire, MD Distinguished Chair in Urology Steven Canfield, MD McGovern Medical School 8/30/1996
Distinguished Chair in Molecular Pathology Robert L. Hunter, MD McGovern Medical School 10/8/1993
Distinguished Chair in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Gustavo Ayala, MD McGovern Medical School 10/8/1993
Elizabeth Morford Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology Stephen C. Massey, PhD McGovern Medical School 11/1/2011
George and Cynthia Mitchell Distinguished Chair in Neurosciences Charles S. Cox, Jr., MD McGovern Medical School 5/30/2003
Glassell Family Distinguished Chair Vacant McGovern Medical School 2/26/2018
Hans J. Muller-Eberhard, MD, PhD and Irma Gigli, MD Distinguished Chair in Immunology Rick A. Wetsel, PhD McGovern Medical School 1/11/2001
Hazim J. Safi, MD, Distinguished Chair in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery Anthony L. Estrera, MD McGovern Medical School 4/6/2016
Huffington Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neurology Claudio Soto Jara, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/26/2018
Jacobo Geissler Distinguished Chair in West Syndrome Research Ian J. Butler, MD McGovern Medical School 5/30/2013
James D. Woods Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine Richard W. Smalling, MD, PhD, FACC McGovern Medical School 10/05/2007
James T. Willerson Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Research in Tribute from the Ewing Halsell Foundation Ali J. Marian, MD McGovern Medical School 8/26/2003
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair (2) Jorge D. Salazar, MD McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair (3) Balveen Kaur, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair (4) Samden D. Lhatoo, MD McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair (5) Bentley J. Bobrow, MD, FACEP McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John P. and Kathrine G. McGovern Distinguished Chair (6) Gustavo S. Oderich, MD McGovern Medical School 2/2/2016
John S. Dunn Foundation Distinguished Chair in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Consuelo Walss-Bass, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/11/2020
John S. Dunn Distinguished Chair in Radiology Susan D. John, MD McGovern Medical School 12/3/1987
Kay and Ben Fortson Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Xin Ge, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/2/2005
Leah L. Lewis Distinguished Chair Jacqueline T. Hecht, PhD McGovern Medical School 7/8/2014
Linda and Ronny Finger Foundation Distinguished Chair in Neuroimmunologic Disorders John D. Reveille, MD McGovern Medical School 9/24/2004
Louisa Stude Sarofim Distinguished Chair Vacant McGovern Medical School 4/4/2014
Maria C. and Christopher J. Pappas Family Distinguished Chair in Nursing Constance M. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN Cizik School of Nursing 1/24/2018
Marvin E. Chernosky, MD Endowed Distinguished Chair in Dermatology Ronald P. Rapini, MD McGovern Medical School 11/12/2013
Mary Farish Johnston Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology Vacant McGovern Medical School 4/4/2014
Meg and Dick Weekley Distinguished Chair in Childhood Reading and Learning Vacant McGovern Medical School 8/31/2006
Nancy and Rich Kinder Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Disease Research Eva M. Sevick, PhD McGovern Medical School 7/21/2003
Nancy, Clive and Pierce Runnells Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience of the Vivian L. Smith Center for Neurologic Research Nitin Tandon, MD McGovern Medical School 11/11/1997
Nancy P. and Vincent F. Guinee, MD Distinguished Chair Vacant Component-Wide 2/4/2015
Nina and Michael Zilkha Distinguished Chair in Neurodegenerative Disease Research Pramod Dash, PhD McGovern Medical School 8/04/2005
Richard J. Andrassy, MD Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Surgery Kevin P. Lally, MD McGovern Medical School 7/3/2014
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Chemistry John Spudich, PhD McGovern Medical School 6/1/1973
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair Louise D. McCullough, MD, PhD McGovern Medical School 8/10/2000
Stanley Family Distinguished Chair of Population Health and Community Medicine Thomas J. Murphy, MD McGovern Medical School 3/21/2018
Susan and Richard Anderson Distinguished Chair in Ophthalmology David A. Lee, MD, MBA McGovern Medical School 10/17/2016
The Glassell Family Foundation Distinguished Chair in Informatics Excellence Jiajie Zhang, PhD School of Biomedical Informatics 8/3/2015
The Jane and Robert Cizik Distinguished Chair (1) Diane M. Santa Maria, DrPH, MSN, RN, APHN-BC Cizik School of Nursing 2/26/2018
The Rockwell Distinguished Chair in Society and Health Vacant School of Public Health 2/29/2000
Weatherhead Distinguished Chair of Heart Disease (Formerly known as the Albert J. Weatherhead III Fund) Nils P. Johnson, MD, MS McGovern Medical School 8/8/2002

Connect with Us

7000 Fannin Street, Suite 1200 Houston, Texas 77030
P: 713-500-3200 E:

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.