Interfaculty Council Meeting Minutes FY 2022 – June 15, 2022 – Webex

Present: Dr. Tiffany Champagne-Langabeer, Dr. Elaheh Ashtari, Dr. Jennifer Bailey, Dr. Meena Bhattacharjee, Dr. Linh Bui, Dr. Rhashedah Ekeoduru, Dr. Syed Hashmi, Dr. Nahid Rianon, Dr. Alan Myers, Dr. Bethany Williams, Dr. Licong Cui, Dr. Arif Harmanci, Dr. June Sadowsky, Dr. Kurt Kasper, Dr. Dharini van der Hoeven, Dr. Vaunette Fay, Dr. Carole Mackavey, Ms. Courtney Liddell, Dr. Georgene Hergenroeder, Dr. Yun Xin Fu, and Dr. Omobola Oyeleye

Absent: Dr. Nachum Dafny, Dr. Eric Jones, and Dr. Seth Stephens

Absent and Viewed IFC Meeting Recording: Dr. Daniel Harrington, Dr. Kirk Roberts, Dr. Assaf Gottlieb, and Dr. Craig Hanis.

Ex-Officio Attendees: Dr. Kevin Morano

Administrative Personnel: Ms. Terrie Schade-Lugo and Ms. Liz Vinson

I. CALL TO ORDER / APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Dr. Syed Hashmi, Substitute Meeting Chair

Dr. Syed Hashmi, substitute meeting chair, called the meeting to order at 11:30 AM and polled the members for any objections or corrections to the minutes for May 18, 2022. Upon motion made and seconded, the minutes were unanimously approved, as presented.

II. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Dr. Kevin A. Morano, Associate VP for Faculty Affairs & Development

Dr. Morano provided his info as follows:

- Regent's Outstanding Teaching Awards nomination period has closed. Each school was asked to supply one application. Three schools sent in nominees. Of those three, two will be selected via committee review to be sent to UT System.
- President's Scholar Award in Research, Teaching, and Clinical Service nominations due July 15, with no limit on nominations. Contact Office of Faculty Affairs and Development with questions.
- Kenneth L. Shine, MD academy nominations due July 15. The University will put forward four nominees for award.
- A retirement party for Dr. Michael Blackburn will be held on June 27 at 4:30 PM at IMM.

Dr. Elaheh Ashtari, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Update:

- Juneteenth Celebrations are ongoing.
- UTHealth will participate in the Pride Parade and Pride Festival on June 25.

III. NEW BUSINESS

Dr. Hashmi introduced the candidate for Interfaculty Council Chair-Elect for FY 2023

- Dr. Bethany Williams, the sole nominee, presented about her vision and drive for the Chair-Elect position.
- Dr. Hashmi provided details about forthcoming email for vote.

Dr. Hashmi introduced Ms. Karen Ethun, Executive Director of Gulf Coast Consortia, who gave a presentation.

• Ms. Ethun's Power Point presentation has been appended to the minutes.

Dr. Hashmi introduced the UTHealth Houston Executive Leadership team, who gave a presentation (Dr. Giuseppe Colasurdo, President, Mr. Kevin Dillon, Sr. Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, and Dr. Michael Blackburn, Executive Vice President & Chief Academic Officer).

- Dr. Colasurdo provided a general update on University business, including the following topics:
 - We are approaching 6,000 total students across all schools and \$1.5 billion in revenue for the University as a whole.
 - The affiliation agreement with Memorial Hermann is currently in negotiation.
 - The new Dunn Behavioral Center opened this year, giving us the largest academic mental health facility in the country.
- Mr. Dillon provided an update on the financial status of the University.
- Dr. Blackburn provided an update on the academic and research programs of the University, including the following topics:
 - There is an increase in the number of collaborative projects in the University.
 - Recognition of Deans for working with administration.
 - Commencement offered a great opportunity to recognize students and schools for achievements.
 - McGovern Medical School recently underwent LCME accreditation visit.

Dr. Hashmi introduce Chief William Adcox, Chief of Police and Chief Security Officer, UT Police Department.

• Chief Adcox presented about active shooter preparedness. The presentation is appended to these minutes.

IV. CAMPUS REPORTS

School Campus Reports

The campus reports were provided in the meeting materials packet and are appended to these minutes.

V. ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Hashmi

Upon motion made and duly seconded, the meeting adjourned at 1:06 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Liz Vinson, on August 12, 2022. Approved by Interfaculty Council on August 17, 2022.