Skip Navigation. Milewicz named chair-elect of AAMC M.D.-Ph.D. group - UTHealth

Media Relations

Milewicz named chair-elect of AAMC M.D.-Ph.D. group

HOUSTON – (Oct. 25, 2012) – Dianna Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D., has been named chair-elect of the M.D.-Ph.D. Section for the Graduate Research, Education and Training Group (GREAT) of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). Milewicz directs The University of Texas M.D./Ph.D. Program at Houston, which is a joint program between The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Medical School and The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. This combined degree program provides training for students pursuing a career as a physician-scientist.

Milewicz is the President George H.W. Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Research and director of the Division of Medical Genetics in the Department of Internal Medicine at UTHealth. She also directs the John Ritter Research Program in Aortic and Vascular Diseases and is on the faculty of The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston.

The AAMC GREAT group fosters the exchange of information and ideas among the faculty and administrative leaders of Ph.D., M.D.-Ph.D., and postdoctoral training programs in medical schools throughout the country. The group functions as a national forum to help these programs achieve their goal of educating successful biomedical researchers. GREAT members also evaluate policy developments that affect the recruitment and retention of new scientific talent and provide direction on these issues.

Deborah Mann Lake
Media Contact: 713-500-3030