Skip Navigation and Go To Content
News from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Stories from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth)

Navigation and Search

Alumna Katie Sowa Stuchlik named 2020 Texas New Dentist of the Year

Dr. Katie Sowa Stuchlik
Dr. Katie Sowa Stuchlik

The Texas Academy of General Dentistry’s 2020 Texas New Dentist of the Year is Katie Sowa Stuchlik, DDS, a 2015 alumna of UTHealth School of Dentistry at Houston.

Stuchlik was named the winner of the award on Sept. 17 during the “Texas Academy Awards” at the annual Lone Star Dental Conference, an event held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. She’s the first UTSD recipient since Summer C. Ketron, DDS ’11, of Lubbock captured the honor in 2018.

Stuchlik was one of 12 nominees, including three UTSD alumni: Michael Sullivan, DDS ’14, of Keene; Courtni N. Tello, DDS ’19, BSDH ’10, of Texas City; and Melissa Uriegas, DDS ’13, of Harlingen.

Stuchlik practices at Dentistry in the Oaks in northwest Houston with fellow UTSD alumna Lindsey L. Wendt, DDS ’15, FAGD.

A Houston native, Stuchlik graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with degrees in human development and radio-television-film, all the while serving as the university’s costumed mascot, “Hook ’Em.” She worked in a research lab at Baylor College of Medicine prior to attending UTSD.

While in dental school, Stuchlik served in several leadership positions within the American Student Dental Association and was honored with the International College of Dentists’ Student Leadership Award upon graduating.

She is a member of the Academy of General Dentistry, American Dental Association, Texas Dental Association, and Greater Houston Dental Society. She’s also been a guest blogger on the ADA’s forum, “New Dentist Now.”

The Texas New Dentist of the Year Award started in 2009 to recognize emerging leaders in the field of dentistry. Nominees must be general dentists who graduated from dental school within the last seven years, and who have been members of the academy for at least two years.

site var = uth