Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Annual Yatsu Day Symposium


November 10, 2023

8 am - 4:30 pm

at the

Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth Houston

6901 Bertner Avenue Houston, Texas 77030

Alkek Auditorium | RM 120





What You Can Expect 

The theme for the 2023 symposium is “Nurturing Brain Health and Preventing Stroke” The event will help increase physician and trainee's knowledge in lifestyle modifications, mental well-being, and brain health education for patients. Topics include nurturing brain health, preventing stroke and dementia, risk predictions for stroke, identifying stroke risk using artificial intelligence, cognitive testing, sleep and brain health and more. 

World Renowned Stroke Specialists

You can anticipate insights from globally recognized experts in the field of stroke care; Vladimir Hachinski, MD, DSc, and Philip Gorelick, MD, MPH, FACP

Speakers and interactive sessions leaders from the UTHealth Houston Department of Neurology, Institute for Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease, Cizik School of Nursing, and the School of Biomedical Informatics include James Grotta, MD, Myriam Fornage PhD, Xiaoqian Jiang, PhD, Anjail Z. Sharrief, MD, MPH, Heather Smith MA, CCC-SLP, CBIS, Kendra M. Anderson, PhD, Seema Aggarwal, APRN, PhD and Anna Hernandez, BS.

Interactive Stations

We understand the importance of fostering meaningful connections and promoting knowledge exchange not only during formal sessions but also during breaks. Our interactive stations will provide a dynamic platform for exchanging ideas, exploring collaborations, and gaining fresh perspectives, ultimately enriching your symposium experience. It will empower you to enhance the quality of care you provide to your practice or patients.

Don't miss the chance to be part of this vital symposium that features world renowned stroke specialists, interactive stations and sessions focused on current topics in brain health and stroke prevention. Forward this to your colleagues you wish to attend with you. 

Continental breakfast and boxed lunch will be provided. 

Who Can Attend?

This is a CME and CNE accredited program, geared to a wide range of healthcare professionals, including physicians, nurses, occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech language pathologists and other healthcare providers working with the stroke population, as well as those interested in brain health and stroke prevention. 

Know Before You Go...

  • Agenda/Program
  • Directions and Parking

    Cizik School of Nursing

    6901 Bertner Avenue Houston, Texas 77030 

    Registration/Check-In: Jane and Bob Cizik Lobby (Room 100)

    Symposium: Alkek Auditorium (Room 120)

    Interactive Sections: Cullen Trust Multi-Purpose (Room 140)

    Screenshot 2023-08-31 123253

    TMC Garage #2

    LAZ Parking Limited, LLC
    Texas Medical Center - Garage 2
    1151 Holcombe Blvd
    Houston, TX 77030

    (Parking will be validated at symposium registration/check-in)

    Screenshot 2023-09-19 084137

    In the event that TMC Parking Garage is FULL, parking validations are valid in any numbered TMC garage and lots AU, LAV, and 2450

    Click here for a full map

  • Meet Frank Michio Yatsu, MD


    Frank Michio Yatsu, MD

    The stroke program at UTHealth was started by James Grotta in 1979 and was supported by the cerebrovascular disease related research interests of the first two Department of Neurology Chairmen (Bill Fields–management of extracranial carotid disease and Frank Yatsu –stroke risk factors). The program was initially shaped by important collaborations with faculty in stroke epidemiology, clinical trial design, and basic science, and the Houston Emergency Medical Services (EMS). It was the first Stroke Center established in Houston at the Memorial Hermann Texas Medical Center hospital and was one of the first established in the world.

    In 1982, Frank was recruited to be the second chair of neurology at the relatively new University of Texas Medical School at Houston, succeeding Dr William Fields, another giant in the field of cerebrovascular disease.

    Frank was fully active in laboratory research throughout his career and obtained support from grateful patients and community leaders. He was appointed the Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair and also received endowments from the Blood and Cullen trusts. He was never too busy or important to deliver personalized care for his patients. “The patient always comes first” was 1 of his favorite expressions; he even made house calls. Frank published >140 articles on the topics already mentioned. In addition to his many articles of original research on cholesterol metabolism and vascular smooth muscle, Frank is probably best known as Neurologist editor with J. P. Mohr of the authoritative text Stroke: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis and Management. At the time of his death, he maintained an active collaboration with Katsuri Ranganna, PhD, studying atherogenesis and vascular smooth muscle.

    Frank Michio Yatsu, MD, died unexpectedly but peacefully during a nap on Friday, March 9, 2012; he was 79 years old. He had been recovering from complications stemming from a kidney transplant he received several years ago. Frank had retired last year becoming Professor Emeritus of the Department of Neurology at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston but was still coming to work several hours a week to attend conferences, work on manuscripts, oversee his laboratory, and other administrative duties.

    See Full Article by James Grotta, MD Here

Conference Planning Committee

The conference curriculum and structure has been supported by a planning committee that includes senior researchers and clinicians with expertise in stroke prevention, stroke systems of care, and research at the UTHealth Houston Institute for Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases.

Yatsu-Day-Planning-Committee-Sean-Savitz Yatsu-Day-Planning-Committee-Seema-Aggarwal Yatsu-Day-Planning-Committee-Elizabeth-Noser

Conference Director

Sean I. Savitz, MD

Conference Co-Chair

Seema Aggarwal, PhD, APRN, AGNP-C

Conference Consultant

Elizabeth A. Noser, MD

Speakers and Presenters

Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Philip-B-Gorelick Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Vladimir-Hachinski Yatsu-Day-Speaker-James-grotta Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Miriam-Fornage

Philip Gorelick, MD

Vladimir Hachinski, CM, MD DSc FRCPC

FCAHS FAHA FAAN FRSC, Doctor honoris causa4

James C. Grotta, MD

Myriam Fornage, Ph.D.

Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Xiaoqian Jiang, Ph.D. Yatsu-Day-Speaker-anjail-sharrief Yatsu-Day-Speaker-kendra-anderson Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Heather-Smith
Xiaoqian Jiang, Ph.D. Anjail Sharrief, MD, MPH Kendra M. Anderson, PhD Heather Smith, MA, CCC-SLP, CBIS
Yatsu-Day-Speaker-veronica-sanchez Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Wesley-Tucker Yatsu-Day-Speaker-Sudha-Tallavajhula

Veronica Sanchez

Senior Director of Healthcare

Systems & Community Impact

at American Heart Association

Wesley J. Tucker, Ph.D., RDN Sudha Tallavajhula, MD