News Story

NIH leader keynote speaker at inaugural Stroke Institute conference Feb. 18

HOUSTON – (Jan. 30, 2017) – Walter Koroshetz, M.D., director of the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), will be the keynote speaker at The Stroke Institute Inaugural Symposium on Saturday, Feb. 18, at the Fayez S. Sarofim Research Building at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth).

The symposium will be held from 8:30 a.m. to noon, followed by lunch and a research forum highlighting the most recent studies of scientists and researchers in stroke at UTHealth.

Sean I. Savitz, M.D., professor and the Frank M. Yatsu Chair in Neurology at McGovern Medical School at UTHealth and a member of Memorial Hermann Mischer Neuroscience Institute at the Texas Medical Center, will announce the Institute for Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease at UTHealth. The institute is a multi-school, multi-disciplinary hub for research and best practices in acute stroke treatments, stroke prevention, stroke recovery, population health and health services.

The symposium will be introduced by Michael Blackburn, Ph.D., executive vice president and chief academic officer at UTHealth and co-dean of The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston.

Koroshetz, who oversees 1,141 scientists, physician-scientists and research administrators at the NINDS, will speak about that institute’s priorities in stroke.

Other topics and speakers include:

  • Differences in stroke between women and men: Louise McCullough, M.D., Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair of Neurology and chair of the Department of Neurology at McGovern Medical School; and co-director of Memorial Hermann Mischer Neuroscience Institute in the Texas Medical Center and chief of neurology at Memorial Hermann-TMC.
  • UT System brain health initiative: Tom Jacobs, associate vice chancellor for federal relations at The University of Texas System:
  • Mobile stroke units: James Grotta, M.D., director of stroke research at the Clinical Institute for Research and Innovation at Memorial Hermann-TMC.
  • Developing the next generation of stroke treatments: Jaroslaw Aronowski, Ph.D., professor and Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Chair in Neurology and vice-chair for research, Department of Neurology, McGovern Medical School.
  • The genetics of cerebral aneurysms: Dong Kim, M.D., professor and chair, Vivian L. Smith Department of Neurosurgery at McGovern Medical School and director of Memorial Hermann Mischer Neuroscience Institute in the Texas Medical Center.
  • Personalized medicine in cerebrovascular disease: Eric Boerwinkle, Ph.D., dean & M. David Low Chair in Public Health & Kozmetsky Family Chair In Human Genetics, UTHealth School of Public Health.

The Fayez S. Sarofim Research Building is located at 1825 Pressler Street and parking is available at University Center Tower, 7000 Fannin. Parking tickets for that building will be validated. To register for the complimentary lunch and for more information, contact Tracy Underwood at

site var = uth