Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Student InterCouncil

Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarship Opportunities

Student InterCouncil (SIC) Academic Achievement Award

View eligibility requirements and application instructions
The SIC scholarship will be awarded to individuals who have stellar academics and academic achievements. Academics at UTHealth not only include ones performance and participation in the classroom, but also ones activity in mentoring and teaching others as well as research and the drive to learn new things.  The Scholarship Committee of the Student InterCouncil (SIC) will accept applications from eligible students from all six schools of UTHealth. Recipient(s) will be selected and will represent their school and this scholarship for one full academic year. The committee will support the academic goals of each student by providing a scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00 for the academic year in which they are chosen.

Shohrae Hajibashi Memorial Leadership Award

View eligibility requirements and application instructions
Shohrae Hajibashi served on the Student InterCouncil from 2004 – 2011 in many roles, including President from 2007-2008. During her time at UTHealth, Shohrae worked towards her MD/PhD and dedicated much of her free time to student leadership. As a charismatic leader, she brought together and led a diverse group of students both at UTHealth and at the UT System Student Advisory Council, making difficult ;   decisions and fighting for the students that she so passionately represented. Her spirit, sunny outlook, and leadership brightened the campus and her laughter was infectious as she touched the lives of so many UTHealth students, faculty, and staff.  The Student InterCouncil honors Shohrae’s legacy with the Shohrae Hajibashi Memorial Leadership Award, which will be given each year to a UTHealth student involved in student leadership who demonstrates the passion, selflessness, compassion, and leadership capabilities Shohrae embodied during her time at UTHealth. A scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00 will be awarded in the academic year in which the recipient is selected.

Toshi NikaidohService Award

View eligibility requirements and application instructions
Hitoshi Christopher Nikaidoh, MD served as Student InterCouncil President from 2000-2001. As a medical student, Toshi embodied leadership and service, both within the University of Texas institution as well as the Houston community. He strived to bring better healthcare to the poor and disadvantaged, and a kindness for all humankind. As a 2003 graduate of The University of Texas Medical School Toshi was chosen by his classmates as the sole recipient of the Gold-Headed Cane Award for Humanism and Service.  The Student InterCouncil honors his memory by awarding an individual who demonstrates the qualities, passion, drive, selflessness and love for humanity with the Toshi Nikaidoh Service Award. A scholarship in the amount of $1,000.00 will be awarded in the academic year in which the recipient is selected.

The Student InterCouncil would like to congratulate the 2021-2022 scholarship recipients!

The SIC Academic Achievement Award Recipients

Corsi, Ileana - Academic Achievement

Ileana CorsiGraduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Patel, Sonia - Academic Achievment

Sonia Patel, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

The Toshi Nikaidoh Service Award Recipients

Pham, Sydney - Toshi Nikaidoh Service

               Sydney Pham, School of Dentistry               

Saliba, Eleonore - Toshi Nikaidoh Service

           Eleonore Saliba, School of Public Health           

Shohrae Hajibashi Memorial Leadership Award Recipients

Alia, Nour - Hajibashi Memorial Leadership

        Nour Alia, School of Biomedical Informatics        

Jiao, Megan - Hajibashi Memorial Leadership

            Megan Jiao, McGovern Medical School