Skip Navigation and Go To Content


The Epilepsy Exchange Meeting at the Texas Medical Center (EpiEx)

Join us for the Bi-monthly Epilepsy Exchange Meeting at the Texas Medical Center (EpiEx), proudly hosted by the McGovern Medical School of UTHealth Houston. Set within the heart of medical innovation, the Texas Medical Center is renowned for its vibrant community of medical experts. With a dedicated cohort of over 200 specialists committed to epilepsy care and research, Houston stands as a global hub of medical excellence, encompassing prestigious hospitals, universities, research institutions, and healthcare facilities.

Our Epi-TMC research initiative unites luminaries from esteemed institutions including UTHealth Houston's McGovern Medical School, Baylor College of Medicine, Rice University, as well as distinguished hospitals like Memorial Hermann, Children’s Memorial Hermann, Methodist, St. Luke's Medical Center, and Texas Children's Hospital. Collaboratively, we confront research and development barriers head-on. Each EpiEx meeting revolves around a crucial challenge within the realm of epilepsy.

Research subjects span optimized care, neurostimulation techniques, genetic susceptibility, brain imaging innovations, biomarker discovery, novel anti-epileptic drugs, epilepsy surgery advancements, comorbidities, neurobiology insights, clinical trial progress, and global epidemiological studies.

Our doors are open wide to the expansive TMC epilepsy community, embracing neurologists, scientists, clinical staff, and all levels of trainees. At each gathering, two presenters will unveil their groundbreaking epilepsy research and/or illuminating case studies. With a 30-minute presentation slot per speaker, followed by 15 minutes of engaging Q&A, our platform encourages vibrant discussions. Our speaker lineup is a tapestry of diversity, interweaving clinical presenters with basic scientists and pairing emerging researchers with seasoned investigators, fostering a fertile exchange of perspectives.

Please take note that our meetings currently thrive through in-person interactions, forging a robust epilepsy community, and we take pleasure in providing refreshments to all attendees.

Concurrently, we are hoping to foster cross-institutional dialogues between trainees in the epilepsy field. We want to arrange an informal space for the future leaders in epilepsy. We will be having an Early Career Attendee reception to follow the meeting.


UTHealth McGovern Medical School Building, Room B.100 (basement)
6431 Fannin St. Houston, TX 77030

Date & Time:

1st Thursday of the month 5:30-7:00 pm
Starting February 1st, April 11th, June 6th, September 5th 2024