Skip Navigation and Go To Content


Distinguished Lecture Series

Established in 1992, the Distinguished Lecture Series is always one of the NRC’s most highly anticipated events. This annual event brings internationally renowned scientists, who are Nobel Laureates, or within the ranks of future Nobel Laureates, to deliver a lecture on their most eminent work.

Ann Graybiel,PhD

Ann Graybiel, PhD
Institute Professor
The McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Thursday, May 11, 2023 at noon
McGovern Medical School in MSB 1.006

Previous Distinguished Lecturers
2022 Cameron Carter, M.D. University of California, Davis
2021 Ed Boyden, Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2019 Henry L. Roediger, III, Ph.D. Washington University in St. Louis
2018 Martha J. Farah, Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
2017 Stanislas Dehaene, Ph.D. Collège de France
2016 Kathleen T. Brady, M.D. Ph.D. Medical University of South Carolina
2015 Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D. Rockefeller University
2014 Huda Zoghbi, M.D. BCM
2012 Roger Tsien, Ph.D. UCSD
2011 Daniel Weinberger, M.D. NIMH
2010 Roger Rosenberg, M.D. UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
2009 Masao Ito, M.D., Ph.D. RIKEN Brain Institute
2007 John Mazziotti M.D., Ph.D. UCLA Med School
2006 Donald L. Price, M.D. Johns Hopkins University
2006 Fred Gage, Ph.D. Salk Institute for Biological Sciences
2005 Paul Greengard, Ph.D. The Rockefeller University
2005 Eric Kandel, M.D. Colombia University
2003 Helen J. Neville, Ph.D. University of Oregon
2003 Patricia K. Kuhl, Ph.D. University of Washington
2002 Bruce S. McEwen, Ph.D. The Rockefeller University
2002 Solomon Snyder, M.D. Johns Hopkins University SOM
2001 David C. Van Essen, Ph.D. Washington University SOM
2000 Joseph T. Coyle, M.D. Harvard Medical School
2000 Pasko Rakic, M.D., Ph.D. Yale University SOM
2000 Eric R. Kandel, M.D. Columbia University
1999 Gerald Edelman, M.D., Ph.D. The Scripps Research Institute
1998 Dennis Selkoe, M.D. Harvard Medical School
1998 Carla Schatz, Ph.D. UC Berkeley
1997 Gerald Fischbach, M.D. Harvard Medical School
1997 Rudolpho Llinas, M.D., Ph.D. NYU Medical Center
1996 Susumu Tonegawa, Ph.D. MIT
1996 Floyd E. Bloom, M.D. Scripps Institute
1995 Stephen F. Heinemann, Ph.D. The Salk Institute
1994 John Dowling, Ph.D. Harvard University
1994 Marcus Raichle, M.D. Washington University
1993 Patricia S. Goldman-Rakic, Ph.D. Yale University
1993 Stanley B. Prusiner, M.D. UC San Francisco
1992 Mortimer Mishkin, M.D. NIH