Skip Navigation and Go To Content

AI Advisory Subcommittee

The AI Advisory Subcommittee was established under the auspices of the UTHealth Houston Information Technology Governance Council to provide guidance on the safe utilization of artificial intelligence (AI) technologies within UTHealth Houston, ensuring alignment with federal and state laws and regulations. Our mandate is to advise and consult on the implementation of AI systems, emphasizing ethical considerations and legal compliance.


This charter defines the role and responsibilities of the AI Advisory Subcommittee in facilitating the safe, ethical, and lawful use of AI technologies across UTHealth Houston.


The AI Advisory Subcommittee’s scope encompasses:

  • Advising the community on the safe use of AI across UTHealth Houston.
  • Making commercial AI tools available to our community in a HIPAA-compliant manner.
  • Supporting translational AI research/application in clinical settings
  • Issuing guidance on the acceptable use of AI for education, research, and clinical care.


    The objectives of the AI Advisory Subcommittee are:

    • To create and maintain a comprehensive inventory of automated decision-making software.
    • To launch a centralized AI website with relevant resources and information.
    • To advise on updating Business Associate Agreements (BAAs), collaboration agreements, and data protection contractual language reflecting new AI considerations.
    • To advise on any other future AI-related subjects or community questions.


      Members are appointed by the chair with consultations with the deans to represent various disciplines and departments relevant to AI technology, including but not limited to legal, compliance, information technology, research, and clinical operations. The chair’s appointments shall complement the expertise of the existing Subcommittee members and may include individuals with specialized knowledge or experience in AI applications.

      The Subcommittee is chaired by the Chief Information Officer of UTHealth Houston and co-chaired by the Director of User Experience and Support for Innovation, Projects, and Research.


      The AI Advisory Subcommittee shall meet monthly to discuss ongoing projects, address emerging issues, and review progress toward objectives. Additional meetings may be called by the chair as necessary.


      The AI Advisory Subcommittee shall provide regular updates and reports to the IT Governance Council detailing activities, recommendations, and outcomes. Reports shall be submitted quarterly.

      Review and Amendments

      This charter shall be reviewed annually by the AI Advisory Subcommittee to ensure its continued relevance and effectiveness. Amendments may be proposed by committee members to the chair.


      • Amar Yousif, MBA
        Vice President and Chief Information Officer


      • Dustan Brennan
        Director, User Experience and Support, Innovation, Projects, and Research
        McGovern Medical School


      • Diarra Boye
        Executive Director IT Finance and Business Services
      • Bruce Butler, PhD
        Professor, Anesthesiology, Critical Care and Pain Medicine
        Vice President, Research and Technology
        McGovern Medical School
      • Martin Citardi, MD
        Professor and Chair, Otorhinolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery
        Vice Dean, Clinical Technology
        Memorial Hermann Chair
        McGovern Medical School
      • Bassel Choucair
        Associate Vice President of IT User Experience and Support
        McGovern Medical School
      • Mary Dickerson, MBA
        Associate Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer
      • Jeffery Frost, PhD
        Professor, Integrative Biology and Pharmacology
        McGovern Medical School
        Assistant Dean, Graduate Education
        MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Houston Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
      • Richard Halpin, MEd, EdD
        Director, Educational Technology
        School of Dentistry
      • Xiaoqian Jiang, PhD
        Chair, Department of Health Data Science and Artificial Intelligence
        Associate Vice President, Medical AI
        Christopher Sarofim Family Professor in Biomedical Informatics and Bioengineering
        McWilliams School of Biomedical Informatics
      • Yen-Chi Le, PhD
        Executive Director, Innovation and Quality, Healthcare Transformation Initiatives
        UT Physicians
      • Chun-Teh Lee, DDS, DMsc, MS
        Associate Professor, Periodontics and Dental Hygiene
        School of Dentistry
      • Tony Murry
        Executive Director, IT Infrastructure
      • Carolyn Pickering, PhD, RN
        Professor, Research
        Isla Carroll Turner Chair in Gerontological Nursing
        Cizik School of Nursing
      • Christina Solis, JD, MPH
        Senior Legal Officer and Privacy Officer
      • Susan Tortolero Emery, PhD
        Professor, Health Promotion and Behavioral Sciences
        Senior Associate Dean, Academic and Research Affairs
        Guy S. Parcel Chair in Public Health
        School of Public Health
      • Christine Flynn Weaver, PhD
        Director Licensing and New Venture Development
      • Hulin Wu, PhD
        Professor and Chair, Biostatistics and Data Science
        Betty Wheless Trotter Professor
        Dr. D.R. Seth Family Professor in Biostatistics
        School of Public Health
      • Guo-Qiang Zhang, PhD
        Professor, Neurology
        Distinguished Chair in Digital Innovation
        McGovern Medical School
        Vice President and Chief Data Scientist