Skip Navigation and Go To Content


An endowed Chair position is a distinction given to high-performing department leaders and senior faculty members. This honor is a valuable retention and recruitment tool that allows the university to recognize the efforts of current educators and researchers, as well as attract leaders in the health science community. As of January 1, 2015, a $1 million gift is required to establish a Chair endowment.

Below is the current list of endowed chairs:

Endowed Chair Faculty Holder School Endowment Established
A.G. McNeese Chair in Pediatric Surgery Kevin P. Lally, MD McGovern Medical School 10/7/1982
Andrew R. Burgess, MD Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery Trauma Vacant McGovern Medical School 8/17/2015
Atilla Ertan, MD Chair in Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition Nirav C. Thosani, MD McGovern Medical School 1/28/2016
Bernice Weingarten Chair in Ophthalmology Charles Garcia, MD McGovern Medical School 11/1/2011
C. Frank Webber, MD Chair of Family Medicine Carlos A. Moreno, MD McGovern Medical School 12/5/1997
Cecil M. Crigler, MD Chair in Urology Run Wang, MD McGovern Medical School 10/11/1991
Chair for Precision Health Vacant School of Biomedical Informatics 2/21/2017
Chair in Biomedical Engineering Ponnada Narayana, PhD McGovern Medical School 8/29/2008
Cullen Chair in Molecular Medicine Qingchun Tong, PhD McGovern Medical School 12/1/2008
Denton A. Cooley, MD Chair in Surgery Richard Andrassy, MD McGovern Medical School 12/4/1986
Dr. Thomas D. Cronin Chair in Plastic Surgery Richard Andrassy, MD McGovern Medical School 10/9/1986
Edward Randall, III Chair in Internal Medicine Philip R. Orlander, MD McGovern Medical School 6/16/1983
Edward T. Smith, MD Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery Walter R. Lowe, MD McGovern Medical School 5/11/1995
Elizabeth Bidgood Chair in Rheumatology Maureen D. Mayes, MD, MPH McGovern Medical School 3/11/1997
Endowed Chair of Mitochondrial Medicine Mary Kay Koenig, MD McGovern Medical School 4/19/2010
Fondren Chair in Cellular Signaling Edgar T. Walters, PhD McGovern Medical School 5/20/1997
Frank M. Yatsu, MD Chair in Neurology Sean Savitz, MD McGovern Medical School 1/18/2013
Fred A. and Dianne F. Garrett Endowed Chair in Orthodontics Jeryl D. English, DDS, MS School of Dentistry 9/23/2011
Frederic B. Asche Chair in Ophthalmology Ruth Heidelberger, MD, PhD McGovern Medical School 9/18/2000
Guy S. Parcel Chair in Public Health Barry R. Davis, MD, PhD School of Public Health 8/29/2008
Harriet and Joe Foster Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience Linda Ewing-Cobbs, PhD McGovern Medical School 6/23/2011
Harvey S. Rosenberg, MD, Chair in Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Robert E. Brown, MD McGovern Medical School 2/12/1987
Herbert L. and Margaret W. DuPont Chair in Infectious Diseases Vacant School of Public Health 7/30/2009
Huffington Foundation Endowed Chair in Nursing Education Leadership Lorraine Frazier, PhD, RN School of Nursing 9/30/2011
Isla Carroll Turner Chair in Gerontological Nursing Vacant School of Nursing 10/7/1982
Jack H. Mayfield, MD Chair in Surgery John B. Holcomb, MD, F.A.C.S. McGovern Medical School 4/26/2007
James C. Grotta, MD Chair in Neurological Recovery and Stroke Elizabeth Noser, MD McGovern Medical School 3/30/2012
James T. and Nancy B. Willerson Chair David D. McPherson, MD McGovern Medical School 5/10/2001
Jane Dale Owen Chair in Environmental Health Protection Vacant School of Public Health 8/29/2008
Janice Davis Gordon Chair for Bowel Cancer Research Qingyun Liu, PhD McGovern Medical School 8/4/2004
Jesse H. Jones Chair in Molecular Biology Ann-Bin Shyu, PhD McGovern Medical School 2/12/1997
Joe M. Green, Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology Stella K. Kim, MD McGovern Medical School 11/29/2004
John P. McGovern, MD Chair in Medical Humanities Thomas Cole, PhD McGovern Medical School 4/21/2006
John S. Dunn, Chair in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology William Dowhan, PhD McGovern Medical School 9/22/1998
Joseph C. Gabel, MD Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology Vacant McGovern Medical School 11/26/1997
June and Virgil Waggoner Chair John H. Byrne, PhD McGovern Medical School 6/28/2002
Kozmetsky Family Chair in Human Genetics Eric Boerwinkle, PhD, Director McGovern Medical School 8/2/2004
Linda K. Finger Chair in Autoimmune and Connective Tissue Diseases Filemon K. Tan, MD, PhD McGovern Medical School 12/16/2008
Lynn and Oscar Wyatt Chair in Metabolic Research Erik B. Wilson, MD McGovern Medical School 5/4/2015
M. David Low Chair in Public Health Eric Boerwinkle, PhD School of Public Health 8/31/2004
Marcus M. Key, MD--Shell Occupational and Environmental Health Endowed Chair Vacant School of Public Health 8/7/2013
Mary W. Kelsey Chair in the Medical Sciences Herbert L. DuPont, MD McGovern Medical School 6/16/1983
Meg and Dick Weekley Chair in Childhood Reading and Learning Carolyn A. Denton, PhD McGovern Medical School 8/31/2006
Pat R. Rutherford, Jr. Chair in Psychiatry Jair C. Soares, MD McGovern Medical School 2/12/1982
President George Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine Dianna M. Milewicz, MD, PhD McGovern Medical School 9/23/1998
R. Palmer Beasley, MD and Lu-Yu Hwang, M.D. Chair Vacant School of Public Health 12/17/2012
Rochelle and Max Levit Chair in the Neurosciences Vittorio Cristini, PhD McGovern Medical School 11/27/2002
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Chair in Gerontology Carmel Dyer, MD McGovern Medical School 4/15/1988
Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Chair in Neurology Jaroslaw Aronowski, PhD McGovern Medical School 4/15/1988
Samuel E. Karff, D.H.L. Chair in the John P. McGovern, MD Center for Humanities and Ethics Jeffrey Spike, PhD McGovern Medical School 6/21/2006

Contact Us

7000 Fannin Street, Suite 1200 Houston, Texas 77030
P: 713-500-3200 E: