Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Audit Committee


The Audit Committee serves to ensure internal audit activities comply with the University of Texas System policies.  The Committee is responsible for ensuring internal audit coverage for UTHealth Houston encompasses the full breadth of operations; the executive management of UTHealth Houston is aware of the audit activities and findings; the scope of audits or dissemination of information from such audits is not inhibited by any one individual; and the audit function is carried out with the highest attainable level of efficiency and professionalism.

Membership consists of the following individuals.  The committee chair is appointed by the UTHealth Houston president.

Permanent Membership

Name Title
Dr. Giuseppe Colasurdo President – UTHealth Houston
Kevin Dillon Senior Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer – UTHealth Houston
Dr. Latanya Love Executive Vice President, Student Affairs and Dean of Education, McGovern Medical School - UTHealth Houston
Dr. Jagat Narula Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer - UTHealth Houston
Dr. John Hancock Senior Vice President of Research Strategy and Innovation and Executive Dean, McGovern Medical School - UTHealth Houston
Dr. Kevin Morano Senior Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs - UTHealth Houston
Andrew Casas Senior Vice President, UTHealth Houston and Chief Operating Officer, Practice Plan
Michael Tramonte Senior Vice President, Finance & Business Services and Chief Financial Officer– UTHealth Houston
Melissa Pifko, J.D. Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer - UTHealth Houston
Karen Spillar, J.D. Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer - UTHealth Houston
Amar Yousif Vice President and Chief Information Officer – UTHealth Houston
Mary Dickerson Associate Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer – UTHealth Houston
Claudia Madrigal, J.D. Chief Compliance Officer ad interim - UTHealth Houston

External Membership

The external membership of the audit committee consists of three individuals appointed by the UTHealth Houston president with staggered two-year terms. These terms start with the beginning of the fiscal year.

Name Title Term Begins Term Ends
Robert George (Chair, UTHealth Houston Audit Committee) Retired Partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers LLC, and Faculty, McCombs Graduate School of Accounting - UT Austin September 2018 August 2024
Ben Melson Retired Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center September 2018 August 2025
Dr. Joe Bridges President, Bridges Family Petroleum, Inc. February 2019 August 2024

MSRDP and DSRDP Members

Name Title
Dr. Richard Andrassy MSRDP Senior Vice President for Clinical Affairs and Strategy - McGovern Medical School - UTHealth Houston
Dr. John A. Valenza DSRDP Vice Chair – Board of Directors, Dean – School of Dentistry - UTHealth Houston