Skip Navigation and Go To Content

Search UTHealth Houston


News Story

UTHealth Stroke Institute Doctors, Alexandra Czap and Sunil Sheth, Elected to SVIN Society Board of Directors

Alexandra-czap-Sunil Sheth-UTHEALTH-houston-stroke-institute-SVIN-board-of-directors
Dr. Alexandra Czap and Dr. Sunil Sheth Elected to the SVIN Board Of Directors

The Society of Vascular and Interventional Neurology's Mission Statement is to advance the fields of vascular and interventional neurosciences to improve outcomes of patients with stroke and cerebrovascular diseases via research, innovation, and education. It was created to achieve the highest level of care for patients through increased collaboration in scientific research and by educating young professionals and training young investigators. The Society also aims to provide opportunities to connect leaders in the field and provide a common ground for dialogue and creation of practice and safety standards.

Each year at the SVIN Annual Meeting, leaders in stroke from around the globe gather to present and learn about the latest breakthroughs in research and participate in networking opportunities. On November 19, 2021 at this year's meeting, their 2021-2022 Board of Directors were announced. Representing UTHealth Houston are Alexandra Czap, MD and Sunil Sheth, MD, FSVIN. from The UTHealth Houston Institute for Stroke and Cerebrovascular Disease.  

Dr. Czap will serve as Vice-Chair for the Break Committee, and committee member on the Research, Annual Meeting, and Guidelines and Practice Parameters committees.

Dr. Sheth will service as Vice-Chair for the Annual Meeting Committee, and committee member on the SVIN Registry, Education, SPEED, and Guidelines and Practice Parameters committees.

Other representatives from the Stroke Institute serving on SVIN committees this upcoming year include Louise McCullough, MD, and Amanda Jagolino, MD.


site var = uth